Posted by: thestruggle4akhirah | September 25, 2008

My Happiness or Yours?

Bismillah

I have a personal rule that says that happiness has to be shared. I can enjoy something by myself, but when I share, and make someone else’s heart feel lighter, then its like I got 10Xs the gift I was given. Alhamdulellah.

Interesting enough, we often say that we want others to be happy, but it has to be happiness on OUR terms. I learned this small lesson some time ago with my son. I could plan some amazing trip for him, and want him to be happy, but at the end of the day, what made him happiest was the fact that we drove on the freeway, skipping the mini-van for the jeep, and he could ride with the windows down, and control all the buttons. For him, that was as good as it gets!  🙂  I’ve learned to let go of “creating” happiness, and instead, to discover what is already before me. Life becomes richer almost instantly.

But alot of people are busy trying to create moments where happiness could be found. Or determining where it can’t be found. Parents are often to blame for this: deciding they MUST know what will make their son or daughter happy, and in the process of insisting, crush their happiness.

So the question begs to be asked: Is this about your happiness or theirs?

Leave a Reply

Categories

